Daisy Utemorrah Award – WA Premier’s Book Awards

The Daisy Utemorrah Award is for an unpublished manuscript of junior or YA fiction by an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander writer. Graphic novels for junior or YA readers are also accepted.

Launched as part of the WA Premier’s Book Awards, this national award is open to Australian Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander writers. Generously supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, the winner will receive $15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books.

The winner will be announced at the Premier’s Book Awards in July 2019, during the ‘Disrupted Festival’ at the State Library of Western Australia.

Applications open: Wednesday, 2 January 2019
Applications close: Tuesday, 30 April 2019, 5pm WST

Emerging and established Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers are encouraged to apply. Download the entry form and award guidelines. Please ensure you meet all the eligibility criteria. Any questions, please feel free to contact us on (08) 9192 1991.

Please note the Magabala Books office will be closed from 22nd December to 4th January inclusive, reopening Monday 7th January 2019.

How to apply

To apply submit your entry as a Word doc or PDF email attachment to: publishing@magabala.com 

Or post your entry to:

Rachel Bin Salleh
Daisy Utemorrah Award
Magabala Books
1 Bagot St
Broome WA 6725

Daisy Utemorrah at the Perth Writers Festival

Daisy Utemorrah

The award is named in honour of author and poet Daisy Utemorrah, who was an elder of the Wunambal people from the Mitchell Plateau area in the far north Kimberley and one of the founders of Magabala Books. Utemorrah wrote the poetry collection Do Not Go Around the Edges (illus
by Pat Torres, Magabala) in 1991, which was shortlisted for the 1991 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year for Younger Readers, and won the 1992 Australian Multicultural Children’s Book Award.

Magabala are grateful to Daisy Utemorrah’s family who have given permission for us to honour her memory with this award.

Copyright Agency Cultural Fund            Government of WA                          SLWA