Artwork from Mrs White and the Red Desert

Welcome to Magabala Books

Magabala Books is Australia's leading Indigenous publisher. Based in the pearling town of Broome in the far north of Western Australia, Magabala Books is one of the most remote publishing houses in the world.

Since its incorporation in 1990, Magabala Books has been recognised as a producer of quality Indigenous Australian literature receiving accolades in prestigious literary and national achievement awards.

As one of the most respected small publishing houses in Australia, Magabala Books works to celebrate the talent and diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander voices through the publication of quality literature. Magabala Books has released more than two hundred titles from a range of genres.

Make a Difference

Magabala is a not for profit organisation. That means you could make a real difference in spreading the seeds of our culture. Click here for more information about how you can support our philanthropic endeavours.

Give Now

New Releases

News & Events

Winner of Kestin Illustrator Award announced

Yolngu artist Johnny Warrkatja Malibirr has won Magabala Books’ inaugural Kestin Indigenous Illustrator Award

... read more
New resources for secondary teachers coming in 2018

Magabala Books has partnered again with Reading Australia to publish eight new teacher resources in 2018

... read more
'Dark Emu' set for the stage

Bruce Pascoe's acclaimed book is set to become a major new dance work with Bangarra in 2018

... read more
'Mad Magpie' wins Speech Pathology Australia BOTY Award

Gregg Dreise's morality story about an angry magpie takes out top honours in the Indigenous Children's category

... read more
'Free Diving' launched at A Taste of Broome

Lorrae Coffin's first children's book officially launched at Goolarri Media's unique music and picture show

... read more